Monica Bay STEM Leadership Award News

Farrah Pepper



October 2, 2018 - The Monica Bay STEM Leadership Committee is pleased to announce that it has selected Farrah Pepper as the winner of the fourth annual Monica Bay STEM Leadership Award. This year, the Award will be given in conjunction with the Electronic Discovery Institute (EDI) annual summit to be held October 11th and 12th in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Presenting the award is Alison Grounds, the first recipient of the award. 

Ms. Pepper is the Chief Legal Innovation Counsel for Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc. (“MMC”).  MMC co-created this dual role with Farrah, which includes leadership of discovery policy and strategy, as well as a broader remit to explore the power and opportunity of legal technology to enhance the legal and compliance teams’ practice areas and improve the delivery of legal services to their internal clients. 

Judi Flournoy, Steering Committee member of the Monica Bay STEM Leadership Committee, described Ms. Pepper as “well deserving of the award based upon her work history, current activities and desire to further promote the MB STEM Award.” As Farrah shared with the Steering Committee, “I first encountered Monica Bay early in my career, and can personally attest what a strong force she has been – and remains – for women and diversity in legal technology. Now many years later, I have always appreciated the time and interest she took in a junior lawyer’s career trajectory and I try to emulate her efforts with the next generation. “ 

The Monica Bay STEM Leadership Award recognizes individuals whose contributions have led to innovation and progress in the legal technology industry. It is named for Monica Bay, whose trailblazing career as the Editor-in-Chief of ALM's Law Technology News and now as a Fellow at CodeX: The Stanford Center for Legal Informatics and a freelance journalist, has inspired numerous people to pursue technology-related careers. This annual award is given to leaders who demonstrate a commitment to the mentorship and sponsorship of women in the legal technology profession and who stand out as team players and thought leaders. The prior winners of the award are Alison Grounds from Troutman Sanders, Sheryl Nolan from Microsoft, and Kate Cain of Sidley Austin.  The Steering Committee is proud to add Farrah to this list of Award winners, and looks forward to working with her to support diversity and inclusion in the legal technology industry and to inspire others the way Monica Bay has inspired us. 

The selection committee this year consisted of: Donna Payne, Gail Gottehrer, Judith Flournoy, Nishan DeSilva, Robert Ambrogi, and Monica Bay.